life. 

Now now, don’t criticize me too much for my failure to post because it sure has been awhile. But man oh man has life been a whirlwind. Some seriously crazy things have conspired over the past month or so. 

Here is a quick recap: I attended the Florida State Spanish Conference as a volunteer & learned that my Spanish speaking skills are terrible (even after 4 years). I went to Texas for a week and stayed with one of my best friends. I had my last Extreme Weekend, a retreat held at my church. & I was actually able to be a leader so that was pretty cool! I celebrated Easter & was reminded of Jesus’ huge sacrifice for us. Seriously crazy that He was willing to do DIE for us. I led at my last Crossover weekend for 3rd-5th graders at my church & was blessed with the most fantastic fifth graders who are always able to challenge my knowledge & theolgy. I got to help my best friend prompose to nine girls in one day, including myself… it was certainly entertaining & memorable! I went to Puerto Rico with my fam for a much needed quick trip & break from reality. I am trekking through my last quarter of high school. And when I say trekking I literally mean DRAGGING my way to the finish line. And I made one of the biggest decisions of my life… so far. 

I officially decided where I am going to spend my next four years. The amount of tears, frustration, and confusion that erupted from what seemed to be an easy task were many and broke me to pieces. But the broken pieces that seemed to be my life in that tough week exemplified something so much bigger to me. They represented how I am a mess without God’s guidance. My faith was tested big time as I had the choice to disobey what God was telling me and lean on my own understanding, or follow the path that was already set ahead of me. And trust me, MY mind and MY desires were telling me to do what I wanted to do. I prayerfully made a decision & I’ll insert the post I made on my Facebook to further explain…

“A little over a year ago I fell in love with a school that I hoped I would one day call home. I visited multiple times and fell in love over and over again. I have met tons of friends, including a fabulous froomie, who is now a forever friend. Needless to say, I thought I had it all figured out. 

About a week ago I was “wait-listed” for the AFROTC scholarship I had applied for. This scholarship was essentially what I was depending on in order to go to Baylor with no loans. To say I was upset, disappointed, and confused would be an understatement.

In the split second it took me to read the first line of that email, I knew all my plans were going to change, but thats all they were. They were MY plans. I had planned my college endeavors to a tee, but apparently He had something different in mind. God makes it clear that we can’t write our story or direct our steps. (Jeremiah 10:23). He has a plan prepared for us that is better than anything we could ever come up with.

I am thankful I have a powerful God who protects, loves, and guides me into whatever circumstance is ahead of me. Sometimes it takes a time of heartache and difficulty in order to humble yourself before the Lord, and I was definitely in need of that. After a few days of prayer and a lot of thought, I was left to make an extremely difficult decision. Despite the difficulty and sadness that comes with this decision to not attend Baylor University, I am excited to announce that I will be attending the University of Florida in the fall. Although this picture is much different than I had envisioned, I know that the Lord has paved the path ahead of me and that all things will work together for His good (Romans 8:28). I am thankful for this opportunity to attend such a wonderful university and I rejoice in all that is ahead of me as I make this journey as a gator… But sic ’em forever.


Although it was a difficult decision to come to I know God’s love was washed over me and my heart is at peace. I’m content with this decision and know that UF19 will treat me well. And who knows, maybe I’ll head to Texas for pharmacy school… UT21? hehe

Thanks for reading & sticking with me. 

xoxo,  

Kels  

 

2 thoughts on “life. 

Leave a comment